The Carrboro Citizen Logo Image

Opinion

What’s a newspaper worth?

As you might imagine, this question has been on my mind a great deal lately.
October 4, 2012 | Posted in: Opinion | Comments closed | Full Story »

BIG CITY: What’s in a name?

The jurisdictional issues are killing us.
October 4, 2012 | Posted in: Opinion | Comments closed | Full Story »

Constitutional issues implicated

The Chapel Hill Town Council recently heard extensive public comment regarding the bus advertisements sponsored by the Church of Reconciliation.
October 4, 2012 | Posted in: Opinion | Comments closed | Full Story »

LETTER: Town, volunteers made music festival possible

I’d like to send out my personal thanks to all who contributed to Carrboro’s always-special day – especially the rain gods who allowed us a glorious one-day window without rain.
October 4, 2012 | Posted in: Opinion | Comments closed | Full Story »

LETTER: Morals take backseat to money

The Republican candidates in our current election drama have emphasized their stalwart stance on religious and moral issues.
October 4, 2012 | Posted in: Opinion | Comments closed | Full Story »

BIG CITY: Obey Creek: a slippery slope

I watched with great interest the presentation by East West Partners on the latest concept plan for Obey Creek.
September 27, 2012 | Posted in: Opinion | Comments closed | Full Story »

The social justice of public transit

The Orange County Board of Commissioners recently placed a referendum on the November ballot for a half-cent sales tax to support public transit.
September 27, 2012 | Posted in: Opinion | Comments closed | Full Story »

‘Lucky duckies’? Not hardly

Romney’s remarks about the “entitled” 47 percent were made at a fundraiser where the entry fee, at $50,000 a plate, was very nearly equal to the median household income in this country.
September 27, 2012 | Posted in: Opinion | Comments closed | Full Story »

Come home, Holden

When Carrboro resident Holden Thorp took his family and moved to the big city to become chancellor of our university back in 2008, we all cheered.
September 20, 2012 | Posted in: Opinion | Comments closed | Full Story »

Freeloaders, according to Mitt

So Mitt Romney and his multi-millionaire donors think my husband and I are freeloaders, according to a video that’s been circulating recently.
September 20, 2012 | Posted in: Opinion | Comments closed | Full Story »

BIG CITY: A dark day in a dark era

Holden Thorp led off the emergency meeting of UNC’s Faculty Council, telling those assembled that he appreciated their effort to convince him to stay.
September 20, 2012 | Posted in: Opinion | Comments closed | Full Story »

LETTER: Reelect Obama

I’m not a Democrat, I’m not a Republican; an Independent I am, and I’ve made my decision.
September 20, 2012 | Posted in: Opinion | Comments closed | Full Story »

LETTER: Thanks for The Citizen

I’ve never met Robert Dickson or his daughter Susan, the publisher and editor of The Carrboro Citizen.
September 20, 2012 | Posted in: Opinion | Comments closed | Full Story »

LETTER: Thorp should reconsider

I was a doubter when Holden Thorp was first appointed to be the UNC chancellor, but he has turned out to be the best thing to happen to South Building in decades.
September 20, 2012 | Posted in: Opinion | Comments closed | Full Story »

Thoughts on Thorp’s decision

The following are statements from local community leaders regarding UNC Chancellor Holden Thorp’s announcement that he will retire in June 2013.
September 20, 2012 | Posted in: Opinion | Comments closed | Full Story »